Evening worship

Always calm and reflective, our evening worship offers something for everyone, from the traditional to the contemporary, and takes alternately at Flamstead or Markyate. Please do feel welcome to come along. Please see the calendar below for evening service times. 

Evensong is a beautiful and traditional evening service of the Anglican tradition. Prayers, hymns and psalms combine with scripture and a short sermon to invite us to consider the will of God in our lives.  Once a month we enjoy a splendid choral evensong. Check the calendar for updates.  Services last 45 minutes. 

Compline was traditionally the last service said at the 'completion' of the day in monastic communities. Here in the benefice we enjoy our compline service by candlelight in the beauty of our church. Services last 20 minutes. 

Taize is a reflective service of music and prayers from the Taize community, France. Services are always candlelit and accompanied by singers and musicians. All services are followed by hot chocolate. 

Upcoming evening services

07
APR

Benefice Evensong at St Leonard's

Date: 
Sunday, 7 April 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

14
APR

Benefice Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 14 April 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

21
APR

Benefice Taize for Easter at St Leonard's

Date: 
Sunday, 21 April 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

05
MAY

Benefice Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 5 May 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

12
MAY

Benefice Choral Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 12 May 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

19
MAY

Benefice Taize

Date: 
Sunday, 19 May 2019 18:00 - 18:30
St John's Markyate

02
JUN

Benefice Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 2 June 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

09
JUN

Benefice Songs of Praise

Date: 
Sunday, 9 June 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

16
JUN

Benefice Taize

Date: 
Sunday, 16 June 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

23
JUN

Benefice Choral Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 23 June 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St John's Markyate

07
JUL

Benefice Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 7 July 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

21
JUL

Benefice Taize

Date: 
Sunday, 21 July 2019 18:00 - 18:30
St John's Markyate

18
AUG

Taize at St John's

Date: 
Sunday, 18 August 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

01
SEP

Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 1 September 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

15
SEP

Benefice Taize

Date: 
Sunday, 15 September 2019 18:00 - 18:30
St Leonard's, Flamstead

06
OCT

Benefice Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 6 October 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

13
OCT

Benefice Choral Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 13 October 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

20
OCT

Benefice Taize

Date: 
Sunday, 20 October 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

03
NOV

Benefice Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 3 November 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

10
NOV

Benefice Choral Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 10 November 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

17
NOV

Benefice Holy Communion with Taize

Date: 
Sunday, 17 November 2019 18:00 - 18:30
St Leonard's, Flamstead

01
DEC

Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 1 December 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

08
DEC

Choral Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 8 December 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

15
DEC

Taize at St John's

Date: 
Sunday, 15 December 2019 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

05
JAN

Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 5 January 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

12
JAN

Choral Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 12 January 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

19
JAN

Taize at St Leonard's

Date: 
Sunday, 19 January 2020 18:00 - 18:30
St Leonard's, Flamstead

02
FEB

Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 2 February 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

09
FEB

Choral Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 9 February 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

16
FEB

Taize at St John's

Date: 
Sunday, 16 February 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

01
MAR

Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 1 March 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

08
MAR

Choral Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 8 March 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

15
MAR

Taize at St Leonard's

Date: 
Sunday, 15 March 2020 18:00 - 18:30
St Leonard's, Flamstead

05
APR

Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 5 April 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

12
APR

Choral Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 12 April 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

19
APR

Taize at St John's

Date: 
Sunday, 19 April 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

03
MAY

Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 3 May 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

10
MAY

Choral Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 10 May 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

17
MAY

Taize at St Leonard's

Date: 
Sunday, 17 May 2020 18:00 - 18:30
St Leonard's, Flamstead

07
JUN

Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 7 June 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

14
JUN

Choral Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 14 June 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

21
JUN

Taize at St John's

Date: 
Sunday, 21 June 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

05
JUL

Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 5 July 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

12
JUL

Choral Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 12 July 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

19
JUL

Taize at St Leonard's

Date: 
Sunday, 19 July 2020 18:00 - 18:30
St Leonard's, Flamstead

02
AUG

Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 2 August 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

09
AUG

Choral Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 9 August 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

16
AUG

Taize at St John's

Date: 
Sunday, 16 August 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate

06
SEP

Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 6 September 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St Leonard's Flamstead

13
SEP

Choral Evensong

Date: 
Sunday, 13 September 2020 18:00 - 18:45
St John's, Markyate